top of page

From the City to the Island

Updated: Dec 23, 2020

I was living in Ontario for the majority of my life and I've been living on Vancouver Island now for the last year. I moved here in February 2019 and when I was in Ontario I owned a public relations business, Northern Ontario PR, and I did that for a little over three years and I absolutely loved it.

I had the flexibility to create my own schedule and my own income, work in my own time, generate the clients that I wanted to work with, and who wanted to work with me. And I got a lot of opportunities out of a lot of doing that. I had my own radio show on a local radio station, published several articles on local publications. I worked with some of the biggest companies in Sudbury and Northern Ontario surrounding area.

So everything was great for me. I had a great life. I was living alone in a small apartment in Sudbury, Ontario with my 13-year-old husky. We had a great life. Everything was going well up until the day that I left Ontario. 

The reason why I left or wanted to leave was that prior to that I was previously married and I was separated and I was just going through this period in my life where I just wanted a change and I was seeking something different and just -- I think I was done in Ontario and I had said that several times. 

So when somebody came into my life from that past that was very welcoming and I was comfortable with and respected very much, we connected again and it made sense to continue the conversation and see if this was a relationship that could progress into a long-term commitment. 

Now the issue was he lived in British Columbia and I was in Ontario and he wasn't about to move to Ontario and I wanted a change. So as our relationship grew and the love grew between us, I was -- After my marriage ended and I went into the dating scene for a bit, I was really ready to find love again. 

I really wanted that real love, "shake me to my core" real love connection where this was going to be it. This was going to be my fairy tale ending! And when somebody familiar came back into the life that I thought could give me that - I went all in. I packed up my car, sold my shit, and moved to VI to be with him. 

We were together for a little over a year and a half. We didn't even live together for a full year and I broke it off. I moved here for love, so I'm staying for love and even though the love I came here for isn't the one that I'm with right now, I don't regret anything. It was something that I had to go through, something that I had to experience and it just didn't work out. 

I had a wonderful job as well as a wedding coordinator at a beautiful lodge, close to me here and I don't have either of those things anymore. I don't have the relationship I came here for and I don't have the job that I came here for anymore. 

After that relationship ended two months ago, I really had to reconnect with who I was and what I wanted and I knew that I did not want to leave VC. I knew I wasn't ready to leave. I came here for love and damn it, I was going to get it! So I stayed. 

Shortly after that relationship ended, I met somebody. We've been together ever since and I feel that love now that I came here for and our stories connect so well together and they align, and I truly believe that he was the one that I came out here for but there was no way for us to meet any other way than how we did. 

I look back on the relationship that I had before this one and I needed to go through that hard love to get to what I really wanted and deserved, to get the love that I desired all of these years and to get the man that I deserved to be with and for him to treat me the way that I know that I deserve to be treated like.

So, if you are out there listening to this and you are stuck in a situation where you don't know how to get out or you don't think that it's right for you or you have that feeling like that it’s not meant for you, it probably isn't.  

But you'll know when it's time to let it go - because for me I love hard. I go all in or I don't go at all. But when I decide I'm done trying to make something work, I'm out and I don't look back.

We weren't our best selves together and If I didn't come here, I would've always wondered. Now I don't have to wonder, I know it didn't work and we can move forward.  


23 views0 comments
bottom of page